Sorrowful, yet always rejoicing

Paul’s description of the walk of faith is so true–“sorrowful, yet always rejoicing” (II Corinthians 6:10). Our family has suffered a deep sorrow since my last update in the sudden and unexpected death of my dear, precious mom on December 23. Of course I miss her more than I can say. I am keenly aware that she was one of my greatest supports in this battle against cancer. How heartening it has been to have a praying mom. Thank you to those of you who have reached out to our family in this time of sorrow.

In the midst of the sorrow, we’ve had much cause for rejoicing, too–the greatest being the promise of the resurrection–the promise of eternity with God for all who trust Christ for salvation. We know we’ll see Mom again.

We’re also rejoicing that my latest echocardiogram shows that the pulmonary hypertension drugs are at least stabilizing things. Additionally, I had a chest CT 2 days before Mom’s funeral, and though it looked pretty good, it showed that I had had pneumonia in the recent past (no wonder I felt so crummy!), and thus prompted a repeat scan last week. That scan looked great–infection gone, and no cancer recurrence from the nodule I had removed last January. I shouldn’t need another scan for 6 months. God has been so merciful to me over these years post-diagnosis. I marvel at the TIME he’s given me and deeply desire to be faithful and fruitful with it.

Other causes for rejoicing–God has allowed me to see another daughter get married! We are happy to report that Emily is now Mrs. Jake Lysack. And God has allowed me another longed-for milestone–Olivia and Dane are expecting a baby girl in July!

A sweet friend reminded me that the best way to honor my mom is to remember all that she taught me. I’m trying to do that. A favorite Scripture passage of hers was on her bedroom wall, and I can hear her voice in my head reminding me of this over the years: “For the LORD God is a sun and shield; the LORD bestows favor and honor. No good thing does he withhold from those who walk uprightly” (Psalm 84:11). Sometimes it feels as if God is showering down good things on us. Sometimes it feels as if he is withholding good things. But our feelings must always give way to what we know is true about God–that he is always a sun and shield. He’s always good, and he’s always doing good to us.

Thank you for your prayers for us and for all the ways you bless me and my family. All the grandchildren sang this song at Mom’s funeral.

3 thoughts on “Sorrowful, yet always rejoicing

  1. I miss seeing you guys and having you play so wonderfully for us at church!

    I’m so sorry for your Mom’s passing, but she is now rejoicing in the completion of her faith journey.

    Thank you for still sharing your health journey, family blessings, and life with us. Matt

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you Michelle for your beautiful updates which we have followed these many years. We continue in prayer for you and your family for the good times and the sorrowful ones. The loss of your Mom is huge, yet your faith gives you, and all believers, the hope eternal of seeing each other again. We also rejoice that you have now witnessed the weddings of two of your three daughters! And now you will soon meet your first grandchild!

    Please continue your ministry in this way. God is using you for so many in the best of times and the worst of times. We miss you but will never forget you and Rich.

    With much love,

    Glen and Judy Mitchell

    Like

  3. Thank you, Michelle, We rejoice with you at the milestones and have prayed for you and continue to pray for the rocks in the road. Congratulations on the new son-in-law, and baby on the way! We are excited to be closer to you all and of course Anna, Steve, and Benny.

    We do enjoy your posts. Please change my email address in your system to johnmsoden@gmail.com. I am using this less and less!

    Thank you! John ________________________________

    Like

Leave a comment